With concussions and headshots being a touchy subject in the NHL right now, was Alex Burrows subject of a wrong hit, wrong time sorta thing?
All I can say is this hit doesn't deserve 5mins and a game. Too bad the reffs had to decide the contest.
Was Burrows skating through the guy to hit him - NO
Was Burrows throwing a cross check directly through Fidler's head - NO
It also didn't help that Vernon was bending down and his head was level with the boards either. This call didn't deserve 5 nor did it earn a misconduct, it was a harmless play. If you want to give the guy a minor penalty, go for it, but don't over do it.
My question is will the referee's get an assist on both goals Phoenix scored on that powerplay? Might as well because that's the only reason why the Canucks got their 7 game winning streak snapped tonight.
I think Alain Vigneault said it best when he said: "This is bull****." Like music to my ears. I'm supremely pissed right now and extremely frustrated. But as always, I view this hit through my tinted blue, green, and white glasses. What do you guys think?
GO NUCKS GO!